Saturday, December 26, 2009

Influence Of the Seven Chakras

By Jonathan Benjem

Chakras are the center of activity in a body - the center that produces the life force energy. The word Chakra means wheel, or disk, and it is referred to as a spinning sphere of energy.

There are six Chakras which are located along the spine and a seventh one above these, removed from the physical element of your body.

The Chakra is commonly described as being energy, but it is important to understand the seven chakras and how they related to your body.

A healthy alignment of all of the seven Chakras will allow you to maintain your own health and happiness during your life. It is important to understand what each of the chakras is, and what it does for you.


The Muladhara is the Chakra of your lower body. This is also known as the root or base Chakra. This Chakra relates to your survival and other instincts. Muladhara has to do with the potentiality of human life. This Chakra is located in the perineal region, near the base of the spine.

This is the Chakra which corresponds to the adrenal glands in the physical body and produces the fight or flight response.


The Swadhisthana is the reproductive Chakra and corresponds to the genitals. Also known as the sacral Chakra, this is the Chakra which controls your sexuality and the creative impulse.

This chakra can also be responsible for the mood swings that might dominate lives at one point or another. It is symbolized by a six petal lotus. This chakra is in charge of the moods that you might have and the basic sexual and creative flows that exist in your body.


The Manipura is the navel. It is considered to be the solar plexus chakra. This chakra deals with the transitions that are found between base emotions and complex emotions. The chakra itself is in charge of base emotions and complex emotions, and dictates the way that they flow into each other. It deals with the flow of energy, the flow of digestion, and can be compared to the way that the pancreas functions in the body.

This Chakra is responsible for energy flow and digestion - it governs the conversion of food into energy.This Chakra is symbolized by a ten petal lotus.


The Anahata is the heart. It is related to the complex emotions, such as love and compassion, as well as overall well being and equilibrium. The chakra is related to the thymus, which is located in the chest. It is the equivalent to the immune system in a person's body.

This symbol of this Chakra is a twelve petal lotus


The Vishudda is the throat. It is responsible for communication and growth.The symbol of this Chakra is a sixteen petal lotus.

It also controls your powers of communication and corresponds to the thyroid gland in the physical body.


The Anja is your eyebrow or forehead. This Chakra is the third eye. Ajna is responsible for your ability to visaualize and is the Chakra related to light, time and awareness.

This Chakra is also in charge of the sleep cycle. The symbol of this Chakra is a two petal lotus.


The Sahasrara is the final Chakra. This is the Chakra which is responsible for consciousness; it is connected to every other system in your body and is the most important element in consciousness. This Chakra corresponds to the pituitary gland in the physical body. The symbol of this Chakra is a thousand petal lotus.

About the Author:

1 Comment:

  1. sfauthor said...
    Nice posting. Do you know about these chakra books?

Post a Comment