Sunday, November 15, 2009

By Gillian Tamzeen

Chakras are focal points of energy within the body that each and every person has. Whether we realize it or not, our chakras impact and affect our reality and they either help us completely experience life (when they are aligned and balanced) or they prevent us from enjoying life (when they are blocked or out of balance).

Chakra is a Sanskrit word that means energy, and while its roots are Hindu, energy is not partial to a religion. Energy is in fact universal and every single person on this Earth has these energies. The chakra is really the vortex that this energy flows through and manifest physically. The chakras are the channels by which universal energy can flow in and out of our aura.

Making sure that our chakras are aligned and balanced make it possible for us to open our minds and get a better understanding of what our true spiritual nature is. Keep in mind that most people are not balanced and their chakras are not aligned. That is why chakra meditation is so important. To begin chakra meditation it is important you know where the chakras are located and what they do.

Your chakras are sited in vital areas such as your heart and your head. The organs which are in the area of these chakras are used to control the energy of the chakra and are as such directly affected by their chakra. There are seven chakras in the human body.

Your first chakra is call the Root Chakra and sits at the base of your spine. Governed by this chakra are your constitution and general health. This chakra is representative of our physical bodies and its relation between the physical and mental aspects of human nature. Each chakra has a color and red is the color of the Root Chakra.

Your second chakra is the Navel Chakra which is, as the name suggests, located in the lower abdomen. This chakra represents your drives towards physical love, including sexual pleasure. This chakra also governs your generosity and is where you will feel giving and receiving. This chakra's color is orange.

Next we have our Solar Plexus Chakra which is found just below our chest. This chakra is where our will and our sense of change or transformation is located. Our concentration and control of our own personal energies stem from this chakra. Self control and our discipline of our ego is also found here. The color for this chakra is yellow.

Your fourth chakra is the Heart Chakra, which can be found at the center of your chest. This chakra is representative of your feelings of compassion, love and understanding. Love which goes beyond the physical aspect is part of this chakra. Green is the color of this chakra.

The fifth chakra is the Throat Chakra, sited between the chin and the sternum. This chakra governs communication. The Throat Chakra lets us understand the power of honest speech to convey truth, kindness and wisdom. The color of the Throat chakra is sky blue.

Your sixth chakra is the Brow Chakra, which can be found on your forehead (and for this reason is sometimes called the third eye). This is the chakra which controls imagination, intuition and insight. Properly aligned, this chakra lets you examine your soul by looking inward. Experiences of the divine are found here, in the chakra which is also the source of peace of mind. The color of the Brow Chakra is indigo.

The final chakra is the Crown Chakra, obviously based on the name it is found at the top of the head. So it should go with out saying then that anything that deals with the mind and spirit is controlled here. It is the Crown Chakra that is tied to our individual journey into understanding our own consciousness and our place in time and space. Anything dealing with the Higher Self is rooted in the Crown Chakra. The color for the Crown Chakra is violet.

Knowing where each chakra is and what each one is tied to will help you with chakra meditation. There are meditations that can be used to align all of the chakras as well as meditations that focus on one particular chakra.

About the Author:

1 Comment:

  1. angel said...
    Great subject. I have been playing around with the idea of the comment structure recently.
    I think now Internet user are increasing day by day so company are preferring online marketing now.
    I think that Marketing Online is still the best choice, cause we have high ROI´s with less investments, especially with SEO.
    degree home

Post a Comment